Community Nurseries

The Community Nurseries Network was formed in July 2009 as part of the community response to environmental issues surrounding Lakes Albert, Alexandrina and the Coorong & Murray Mouth.  Development funding was made available from (DEH) now DEWNR to set up new nurseries as well as upgrade existing nurseries to facilitate the need for infrastructure to grow for the project.

In the first year of propagation (2009/2010) there were 8 nurseries who grew 130 000 plants of approximately 30 different species.  In 2010/2011 10 nurseries grew 221 842 plants and the species diversity increased to approximately 100. In the third season we have grown 337 126 plants and the species diversity has increased to 130.

Nurseries are located at Milang, Meningie, Murray Bridge, Raukkan, Clayton Bay, Finniss, Goolwa and Hindmarsh Island. The increase in plant numbers and species is an indication of how knowledge and skills have developed since the project commenced.

The nursery network continues to meet on a monthly basis which provides a good forum for sharing knowledge and experiences and working collaboratively has been a major element of the network’s success.

For more information on the Community Nurseries Network please visit the website at